The Directorate has a Secretariat in Lilongwe along Paul Kagame Road and four Regional offices in Lilongwe, Blantyre, Zomba and Mzuzu.

Central and Southern regions have satellite offices in Lilongwe at City Centre and Blantyre at Makata respectively. In additional to the satellite offices the Directorate has two additional service centres at Lilongwe Post Office and Mangochi Post Office under Mlambe One Stop Public Service Delivery Centre.


DRTSS Head Office,

Private Bag 257,


Tel: 01 756 398 / 177/ 181/ 0995008482


DRTSS Regional Office Centre,

P.O. Box 101,


Tel: 01 756 042


DRTSS Regional Office South,

P.O. Box 30177,

Blantyre 3.

Tel: 0995008502


DRTSS Regional Office East,

P.O. Box 315,


Tel: 01 527 955 / 0995008509


DRTSS Regional Office North,

P.O. Box 115,


Tel: 01 312 323 / 0995008459


Toll free: 4040 for Airtel Subscribers only


The Directorate of Road Traffic and Safety Services (DRTSS) is a regulatory arm under the Ministry of Transport and Public Works. DRTSS is responsible for the regulation of the road transport industry through traffic law enforcement, development of polices, standards and practices; and provide civic education on road safety to all road users in order to ensure well-coordinated, efficient, reliable, sustainable and safe national road transport system.

Read more

Contact infoOur Location and Phone Numbers

The Director,

Directorate of Road Traffic & Safety Services,

  P/Bag 257 Lilongwe

 Email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

  Tel: +265 1 756 138 ,

Cell; +265 995008482,

Toll Free; 4040.